Meet our students: Bhagwan Bastola

Bhagwan

My name is Bhagwan and I am 16 years old. I come from a village in the Kaski district.

I study science to fulfill my dream: I want to become an engineer, because I am a student of lower class family. It is too expensive to study to become a doctor, but not to be an engineer. The scholarship helps intelligent students for bright future, they give a scholarship for career development and study. 90% of the fee, dress, basic book and they give career development and informal training.I learned about the scholarship thanks to prospectus in our school. My aunt called me and said “Take this nice opportunity”

My English is so poor, I don’t know difficult words. I want to speak to foreign students. English is the most popular language in the world. Every people knows about journalism. They know about different sectors (study sector, education sector…) how to write news… I also want to learn computer langag and talk to 2.5 billion people, to learn about the Internet, search many things on the Google. Nowadays, computers are important for every aspect of the world.

All my relatives and my teachers are very happy for me. They all think I have a bright future. There are five members in my immediate family: my grandfather (85 years old), my mother who is 43 and my two sisters who are 11 and 6 and both study in government school. My father passed away from kidney cancer.

I am the kind of student who is intelligent in every sector: poetry, history, writing jokes… I also have the knowledge of horoscope because of my grandfather who is an astrologer.

If I find a nice opportunity, I want to pursue a PhD in maths, if I find a scholarship, to become a professor. Professors are greater than scientists because they know about everything. The motto of Nepali people is “jannani jhanma uhumischa shorga dapi gharasi”which means “mother and motherland is greater than heaven”. Nepali people have brotherhood and respect each other.

This is a condensed version of an interview conducted by Noam Keim on August 27th.

About Gaky's Light Fellowship Program

Gaky’s Light Fellowship Program (GLFP) is a joint program of Alternatives and Eva Nepal. It is a scholarship, training and guidance counseling program for Nepalese youth from uneducated communities. GL fellows receive certain scholarship facilities for intermediate level education. Additionally they receive weekly training on career development, technology, entrepreneurship, journalism and language, get mentorship and guidance counseling. The ultimate focus of GLFP is to develop youth and professional skills for employment and motivated youth towards enterprise creation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

