Meet our students: Ramesh Acharya

My name is Ramesh, I am 17 years old, I live in Haripow (Kaski district). It is 15 km from Pokhara.

2013 08 13 11 46 23 59

I am a very poor man, my family are just farmers and, they don’t have a lot of money. I have 1 brother. He is 19 years old. He studied for class 10 and now he works in Malaysia, marketing. I have 4 sisters, they are all married. One sister studied for class 8. I am the first one in my family to study for class 11. My family is very happy I receive the fellowship.

My hobby is journalism subject. I read newspapers, write news. I like that. In the future, I want to be a good journalist for Nepal. I started a program in my village and my school for writing. I like reading Nepali literature.

I want to learn English and journalism. Because I come from government school, and in government school we don’t practice we only pass exams. So I am not perfect. All countries use English, electronic use English language, so that is very important to learn.

I want to learn newspaper writing. I want to write news for all people so houseworkers can easily read the news. News are very important because Nepali political conditions are very bad. The conditions are very bad because every 3 months they change the Prime Minister. And there is corruption. When journalists write news, they watch the behavior of the Prime Minister and they change the political conditions.

This is a shortened version of an interview conducted by Noam Keim on August 24th.

About Gaky's Light Fellowship Program

Gaky’s Light Fellowship Program (GLFP) is a joint program of Alternatives and Eva Nepal. It is a scholarship, training and guidance counseling program for Nepalese youth from uneducated communities. GL fellows receive certain scholarship facilities for intermediate level education. Additionally they receive weekly training on career development, technology, entrepreneurship, journalism and language, get mentorship and guidance counseling. The ultimate focus of GLFP is to develop youth and professional skills for employment and motivated youth towards enterprise creation.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Meet our students: Ramesh Acharya

  1. hungrydai says:

    Good luck with your future Ramesh. I hope you will become a great writer. My ambition is to speak Nepali well. My wife is nepali so this is important.

  2. Ramesh says: “Thank you, I am very happy you read about my life and that you hope i become successful.”

    • hungrydai says:

      Greetings to you Ramesh. I am trying to watch the match between Nepal and India but my internet connection is bad here. What are you doing today ?

      Best wishes from Anthony

Leave a comment